• Grey Google+ Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey LinkedIn Icon
  • Grey Facebook Icon

© 2023 by Talking Business.  Proudly created with Wix.com

  • Savannah Pointer

Eight Republicans Senators Stood With Democrats to Restrict Trump's Power

Multiple Senate Republicans joined all of the Senate Democrats in a Wednesday vote on a resolution that would restrict President Donald Trump's authority to take military action without congressional approval, according to Bloomberg.

"The resolution, introduced by Democratic Senator Tim Kaine, would bar U.S. troops from engaging in hostilities against Iran or any part of its government or military, unless Congress declared war or specifically authorized the use of military force," Bloomberg reported. "The measure is expected to get a final vote Thursday."

The measure was introduced near the beginning of the year in the wake of the United States' strike on Iran that killed Iranian General Qassem Soleimani.

Occupy Democrats reported on the Republicans who lacked support for the president.

"Senators Rand Paul (R-KY) and Mike Lee (R-UT) were the first to rebel against Trump’s explanation that he needn’t consult Congress before taking the kind of action that he took in the Suleimani assassination.

"The other Republicans who later joined their colleagues in supporting the restriction of Trump’s presidential powers include Senators Todd Young (R-IN), Susan Collins (R-ME), Lamar Alexander (R-TN), Bill Cassidy (R-LA), Jerry Moran (R-KS) and Lisa Murkowski (R-AK), several of whom were considered part of the moderate wing of the GOP  and who were being watched closely for whether they would break ranks during Trump’s impeachment trial and allow further evidence and witnesses."

2,176 views1 comment